2018 Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact Changes

Kelly SeagravesNursing RN/PN

Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact

2018 Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact Changes

On January 19th, 2018, the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) will go into effect, replacing the older 25-state Nurse Licensure Compact. This will grant Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, and Vocational Nurses that apply a multi-state license, covering 27 states, the latest being Wisconsin.

What is the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact?

States that are part of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) will have a uniform set of requirements allowing nurses to obtain a multi-state license by meeting a single set of requirements:

  1. Meets the requirements for licensure in the state of residency.
  2. Had graduated a board-approved education program or has graduated from an approved international school approved by the country of graduation.
  3. Has passed an English proficiency exam if an IMG graduate from school not taught in English.
  4. Has passed the NCLEX-RN(r) or NCLEX-PN(r) exam.
  5. Is eligible for, or has an unencumbered license with no active disciplinary measures.
  6. Has submitted to state and federal background checks.
  7. Has no state or federal felony convictions.
  8. Has no misdemeanor convictions related to practice of nursing.
  9. Is not a participant in an alternate licensing program.
  10. Has a valid US Social Security number.

If you were an RN, LPN, or VN licensed in the old Nurse Licensure Compact, be aware that Colorado, New Mexico, and Rhode Island have so far chosen not to participate in the eNLC. Several other states have chosen to join the eNLC, and many more are considering it.

What is the eNLC?

The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) is the ongoing effort to create a comprehensive nurse licensing program that covers all states. In the age of instant communication, email, telemedicine and multi-state health care organizations it just doesn’t make sense to throw artificial licensing hurdles in front of nurses. The main change the eNLC brings to the original NLC is the more comprehensive background check.

For nurses practicing outside the eNLC states, you cannot get a license under the eNLC. If your license is in Nevada, for instance, and you are practicing in Utah, part of the eNLC, you are not eligible for the multi-state license, and must follow the old state licensing procedures.

If your state of residency is in one of the new states that have joined the eNLC, or your state adopts the eNLC in the future, you will be able to apply for a new license. It may take a background check, and there is always more paper to be produced.

State control of clinician licensing is not a bad thing, but states and associations should be removing barriers to clinical practice, not creating new ones. If you would like to see more about the eNLC, go to https://www.nursecompact.com/index.htm.

The Enhanced Nurse State Licensure Compact does not apply to Nurse Practitioners.

The Advanced Practice Nurse Compact is working to cover single state NP licensing – https://www.aprncompact.com/.

Med-Challenger offers a number of high-quality exam review and CNE online products for registered nurses and practical nurses, nurse practitioners and Emergency NPs (ENPs) – as well as – a nursing program group education platform for managing online education performance and outcomes adjunct to program rotations.